MLK DAY REFLECTION

So last Monday was MLK day. It was pretty insane. We work so hard and so long that I definitely needed that 3 day weekend. I had a lot of apprehensions at first. I was freaking out at the thought of having to lead a team of adults and not kindergarteners. I was really nervous able having to facilitate the introductions and setting out a plan to complete our mural project. But I found as with a lot of things I’ve learned in City Year that for some reason I am capable of leading a group of people. Shocker right? I had so much fun interacting with my volunteers. We had really funny conversations and the great group chemistry. During our debrief of “Roses and Thorns”, in which we say our low and highlight of the day, all of them said that they enjoyed the company and that MLK should be a time not only to reflect but also to do service for others. Which is so beautiful and corny. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. MLK day rocked. Cool that’s it.

Yours in service,

Roma
P.S. 75 Hunt’s Point, South Bronx

