Hop Aboard The Month of "Campuary"




Campuary seems to have come and gone. Here at City Year New York, February is more affectionately known as Campuary because of the annual event… *drum roll, please*… Camp City Year! Camp City Year is a one-week winter day camp that City Year designs and runs in a few schools while the school system is out for break. This year we had Camp CY in three boroughs: East New York in Brooklyn, East Harlem in Manhattan, and Hunts Point in the Bronx. Our pirate theme “Hop Aboard” was very exciting for the kids, and they seemed to really enjoy the themed activities and assemblies. The Camp staff worked for months on this project, and I am happy to report that our three sites were all very successful.

I was the Development Manager for PS 149 in East New York. While most of my time was spent with the Logistics team, there were also opportunities to assist a Team Leader or to just play games with the kids during their breaks. They taught me some fun games, but reading with one five-year-old boy right before nap time was probably my favorite part of camp.

The kindergarten group was all over the place! Those little balls of fire were definitely a difficult group to keep an eye on. When you chased after one child, two others ran in the other direction. And when they wanted to play a game, there was no way to please all of them. We played a game called Sleeping Giants (in non-CY jargon, that means nap time), but a few kids just didn’t want to lay down. The Team Leader and I decided that they could read quietly and look at books with us if they chose not to play the game (meaning sleep). So I spent the rest of Sleeping Giants reading books and playing with building blocks, and we had a great time! Aside from the occasional SPI (School Partnership Initiative) Day that I have at PS 308 in Bedford-Stuyvesant, I hadn’t had time like that with a kid since I was still working back in San Diego, CA. I love being on NYCE, but I forgot how much I missed working with my kids back in California!

The dedication of the corps really fueled the creativity and organization of the event, and it is now just one more reason why I am so proud to be a member of this CYNY corps.

And now I’m ready to leave the New York winter behind!

In service,
Lindsay Sablan
NY Civic Engagement ’06-’07

