The end is ohh so bittersweet

Hello all!

It is hard to believe that in a few weeks City Year will be but a distant memory. So sad. Yesterday, was my last day with my kids and I still think I will be continuing my normal routine by seeing them on Monday. Sadly, I will not. As a sendoff for the year, I gave each of my kids a card with inspiring words and a lovely chocolate/vanilla cupcake. As for my teacher, I did the same and then some. As part of my lunch club experience, I have been working for the past few months on a dance routine for my third graders. One of the teachers at P.S. 48, who happens to be a phenomenal dancer, put on a show that took place last night. Although the kids and I were really nervous, it turned out to be a lot of fun and a huge success in the end. It was a great way to end the year and I will truly miss the little cuties.

Even though this was in May, we had a cool service day with ALCOA where they not only had a chance to visit us in the classrooms but for the first time come to our after-school program at “The Point”. It was a beautiful day all over. In the morning, we did a teach back learning about water pollution, then we had a science fair in which we all were the judges; a second grader who did an experiment on carnations changing colors in dyed water came in first place while my teammates, Mr. Chad’s, fourth grade class came in second. Next, it was off to “The Point” for a delicious meal provided by Chef and Co. and then stupendous service cataloging their library. I really enjoyed that day and it was nice way to end our year with ALCOA.

What can I say about this year? Definitely a toughie. For those of you who are doing it next year, I say to remember the kids because their smiles and loving attitudes truly leave a warming impression on you heart. Look for those beacons of light, people outside of CY, who see the work you do and help you to get by through smiles and words of encouragement everyday. I know I would not be anywhere without them. Thanks for an insightful and reflective year.

Yours in Service,

Candra

