Summer in the City


My name is Diana Vining and I am currently the Visitor Program Service Leader here at City Year New York. Last year I served at P.S. 133 in Central Harlem and had an amazing year working with some really incredible fifth graders. A highlight of my year was when a particularly rowdy boy in our after-school program wrote us a note that said “Thank you City Year for letting me stay even though I was bad.” Making a difference to children like this is what inspired me to come back to City Year. This year I am excited to be back engaging people in our Visitor Program which invites guests to our office to learn more about City Year and interact with corps members. Our dedicated group of Service Leaders has been here all summer training and preparing for the corps to come. They will be here in a few weeks and I can’t wait to get the year started!

