City Year Has Changed My Life

Hi! My name is Linzy Aron and I serve with P.S 309 in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn. Being a part of City Year and a part of my school had changed my life. Working with my students has brought a new joy to my life that I have never felt. These children are the reason I get out of bed in the morning and come to work. It is the best feeling when a student sees our red jackets and says: “Hi, City Year!” with a big smile on their face. The red jackets are a symbol of a safe person for these children and that is the best feeling!

Being at the school everyday I have gotten to know many students and have became very close with them. The other day a student of mine whom never stays in class and doesn’t listen to anyone was acting up. Finally, he wouldn’t listen to anyone and he asked his teacher for me. He later told her that he would stay in class if I stayed with him. But, I had to be in another classroom for a Bringing Books to Life lesson. I asked him if he wanted to be my “assistant” for this B.B.L with kindergartners. His face gleamed with pride. He helped me the whole time and I have never seen this student be so well behaved and act so mature. He was telling the student’s to stay on task and to sit “criss cross apple sauce.” This day was a big accomplishment for him and made me really happy. Days like this are a constant reminder why I am in City Year and the impact I am making with these kids.

City Year as a program has made me grow a lot as a person. I know that when this is over I will be a whole other person. I have learned to work with people from different backgrounds. At times it is so hard and frustrating to work with my team. But, without them I don’t know what I would do. When we work as a team and get tasks done, it is the best feeling! City Year has opened my eyes to many non-profit organizations that I want to be a part of. I know now I want to work in the non-profit world. City Year has motivated me to go back to school and has opened up so many windows of opportunity. Even though the training workshops can sometime seem long, I really do get a lot of information out of them. I am really glad I have joined the City Year family.

Yours in service,

Linzy Aron P.S. 309

