Essay contest – Win a trip to Japan

Organized by The Goi Peace Foundation and UNESCO
Sponsored by the Earthrise Society
Endorsed by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan
Japan Broadcasting Corporation, Nikkei Inc., Tokyo Metropolitan Board of Education
Supported by Japan Airlines.

The United Nations has designated 2001-2010 as the “International Decade for a Culture of Peace and Non-Violence for the Children of the World” and 2005-2014 as the “United Nations Decade of Education for Sustainable Development.” Not only should young people benefit from these global initiatives, but they should be empowered to play a leading role in them. The theme of this year’s International Essay Contest is “My project to create positive change in my environment. How can I foster sustainable development in my community?” Young people from around the world are invited to submit their innovative ideas on this theme.

Theme “My project to create positive change in my environment. How can I foster sustainable development in my community?”-— Please submit your innovative ideas and concrete plans/projects to address the social, cultural, environmental or economic problems faced by your community

Entries must be received by June 30, 2008 scheduled for November 2008.

More info here

