I Love My Park Day

This Saturday is I Love My Park Day in New York. This statewide event, organized by Parks & Trails New York (PTNY) in partnership with the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation (OPRHP) and local friends groups, is designed to improve and enhance New York’s parks and historic sites and bring visibility to the entire park system and its needs.

“Our parks are one of the hidden treasures of our state,” Governor Cuomo said today, inviting New Yorkers to participate in the first ever “I Love My Park Day.”

We’d like to invite our friends, City Year alumni, and current corps members to suit up in their AmeriCorps gear and participate in this event! Volunteers will celebrate New York’s state park system by cleaning up park lands and beaches, planting trees and gardens, restoring trails and wildlife habitats, removing invasive species, and working on various site improvement projects. There are more than 35 participating state parks and historic sites. 4 of those projects are in New York City, so check them out below and sign up here.

Hope to see you there!

