Five Things Friday: Looking Forward To The 10th Anniversary Corps, Part 2!

Today, we hosted our second registration day with nearly 100 incoming corps members! We pulled a few of those corps members aside and asked them what they are hoping to learn this year! Today’s Five Things Friday is dedicated to their answers.

1) Ricardo Perez-Pineda, 22, Cudahy, California

Image

This year, I am hoping to learn how to make students understand the benefits education can offer and the different opportunities that are available if you pursue higher education. And yoga.

2) Dana Roberts, 21, Riverside, Connecticut 

Image

This year, I am hoping to learn how to navigate East Harlem!

3) Priya Parikh, 21, Chandler, Arizona

Image

This year, I am hoping to learn how to best affect positive change in the classroom.

4) Cole Carothers, 22, Los Angeles, California

Image

This year, I am hoping to learn more about myself, New York, and how to bring about positive change in the lives of the children I work with.

5) Eliasel Deoleo, 23, New York City, New York

Image

This year, I am hoping to learn how to help students out by being a positive role model.

We also came across Kim Gillman, Individual Giving Manager at City Year New York! Kim is featured as bonus in this week’s Five Things Friday!

Note: The lack of smile was a choice made by Kim.

6) Kim Gillman, City Year Staff, New Paltz, New York

Image

This year, I am hoping to learn how to curb my spending habits, how to french braid, and how to keep cilantro alive.

