L.A. to BK

My name is Evan Neubauer. I get to serve as the Events and Alumni Project Leader at City Year New York. My journey with City Year and to this position began back in 2007 when, as a high school senior, I decided to apply to a program starting up in Los Angeles. I had never heard of City Year before, but when several very enthusiastic people sporting bright red and yellow jackets began doing jumping jacks on stage one morning in the school auditorium, I found myself both amused and intrigued. I began my application to serve as a City Year corps member fifteen minutes later.

I grew up in Los Angeles, California. After graduating high school in 2007, I served as a corps member in the City Year Los Angeles founding corps. After finishing my corps year, I headed to college. I graduated from UCLA with a degree in American Literature and Culture in June 2012. During my senior year, I was hired by City Year as a Campus Recruitment Ambassador at UCLA. I stayed connected with the organization in the years following my corps year, but recruiting for City Year allowed me to really connect with the organization again. After a few weeks of helping recruitment efforts on campus, I knew that I wanted to apply for Senior Corps. Having grown up, served as a corps member, and attended college in Los Angeles, I decided it was time to shake things up a bit. I set my sights on New York City.

For me, a move across the country wasn’t just a yearlong commitment. I wanted to go somewhere I could see myself living for at least a few years. I was immediately drawn to the Events and Alumni Project Leader position at City Year New York. I love social media and event planning, and I knew I would enjoy working closely with City Year alumni in New York City.

I have been in New York City for nearly two months now and, so far, I am having an amazing time! I have a great (and affordable—yes, it can happen) apartment in Brooklyn and a simple commute to work.  There have been a few mishaps along the way (liquid damage to my new MacBook Pro, having to pay for that mistake, occasionally getting on the wrong train) but those few annoyances pale in comparison to the great experiences and the fantastic friends I have made. Returning to City Year after a four year gap was absolutely the right decision for me, and I look forward to working alongside the incredible City Year New York staff, senior corps, and corps members to provide New York City with the best service possible this year.

