Staff Spotlight: Jasmin Jimenez

Meet Jasmin Jimenez, City Year New York’s Admissions Operations Manager! We caught up with Jasmin today to ask her a few questions about her experience with City Year and what she loves about living in New York City! Check out her responses below!
 
Why did you join City Year?
Service was a part of my life growing up. It was something I knew and it was something I was comfortable with. Prior to joining City Year, I was doing research on the Peace Corps and even prior to that, I was active in my community in high school. I volunteered at a hospital, I was a part of the E Board for Junior Volunteers and I was also a part of my church, either leading catechism or just being active and involved, so applying to City Year just made sense.

When and where have you served?
I served in New York (’05-’06). I worked with elementary school students and the middle school initiative, Young Heroes. My second year I served with City Year Boston in their high school initiative, City Heroes.

What is your favorite thing about your current role as the Admissions Operations Manager?
It’s a new look at how we process applications and how we manage and schedule applicants going through the interview process. Specifically, because it is regional, so it’s not just me working with one site, I am also looking at Rhode Island and New Hampshire and making sure I schedule applicants for all three locations in the Northeast. This year, we are piloting on the West Coast!

What is your favorite thing to do in New York City?
I like to aimlessly walk. It’s easy to do in this city because there is always something to look at and there’s always something that will inspire you to do something else. I also like to eat. There are a lot of food places in New York City. Eating and walking. It would probably be both.

If you were a City Year uniform piece, what would you be and why?
I kind of like the button down, I’m not going to lie. It has transformed…evolved even. It’s nice and lightweight now. It’s versatile!

What are you most looking forward to with the corps year beginning?
The new year is interesting. You finish one year, you get the corps in, and then you have to sort of start all over again, but I think it helps the cycle of welcoming a new group of people in!
 ____________________________________________________________________
We asked members of the Recruitment Department to tell us what comes to mind when they think of Jasmin! Here are their responses.
Jasmin is a source of fashion inspiration for everyone in the office. She has motivated many of us to “step up our game” and take business casual to a higher level. -Diana Vining, Recruitment Director

Jasmin is a ball of energy that inspires me every day. She is fashion forward, intelligent, and sassy. I look up to her for inspiration because she is fierce beyond belief! -Emmanuel Sterling, Recruitment Manager

Jaz is wicked cool, fashionable, and fun. I appreciate her honesty in all decisions. Jasmin, Thank you for listening and not making too much fun of me! -Nick Martin, Admissions Manager

Jasmin embodies honesty and a true meaning of accountability. I appreciate her ability to push herself and her commitment to other people’s success. She’s good stuff and I admire her so much! -Veronica Salenda Rayford, Admissions Director
