Five Things Friday: Why Should You Intern at City Year?

Mansi Parikh is a junior at NYU majoring in Economics and Business Studies. She is the City Year People and Operations Intern this fall and is having the most incredible experience thus far. In her free time, she enjoys cooking, dancing, volunteering, and traveling around the world.

Why should you intern at City Year?
I can think of a few reasons…

1. You will work alongside some of the most creative, engaging, and talented people you’ll ever meet.
Working at City Year has given me the chance to work with some of the most caring, passionate, and fun people I have ever met! Everyone at City Year loves what they do, and that makes it more exciting for me to intern here.

2. Your work is having a direct social impact.
Interning at City Year has given me a chance to give back to my community. I know that what I do has a direct effect on students all around New York City, and to me that makes coming back every single day worth it.

3. You have a passion for bettering education.
I firmly believe that change starts with the younger generations. City Year allows me to explore my passion for improving education and I love what City Year stands for so much that I hope to return as a Corps Member in the near future.

4. You want an internship where you have diverse responsibilities and important tasks.
I have not once gotten coffee for someone or sat in a corner waiting for my manager to notice me. I feel like a member of the team; I know that I am allowed (and encouraged) to make suggestions, expected to contribute, and be able to manage a myriad of daily tasks and projects.

5. You will learn a variety of skills that are appealing to any future employers.
I have learned innumerable skills while at City Year. I have learned about my personal goals, and I find myself more confident in my work. Plus, I know that interning at City Year makes me an appealing candidate to future employers.

Go ahead, give it a try. Who knows, maybe you can change the world.

For more information on internships with City Year New York, including the application process, click here!

