Five Things Friday: #experienceCY Shadow Day Attendees

On Monday, we hosted over 100 applicants and confirmed corps members at the City Year New York office and in schools in Hunts Point in The Bronx, East Harlem, Long Island City in Queens, and East New York, Brooklyn for #experienceCY Shadow Day. This event also took place at City Year Rhode Island and City Year New Hampshire. We asked two confirmed 2013-2014 corps members what they are most looking forward to during their year of service and three applicants what they were most excited to see when they visit schools. Today’s Five Things Friday is dedicated to their responses.

Femi Watson, 2013-2014 Corps Member / Campus Recruitment Ambassador

IMG_1499

“I am looking forward to graduating from the University of Rochester and starting my corps year serving students in the city I grew up in and love!”

Heather O’Keefe, 2013-2014 Corps Member

IMG_1503

“I am looking forward to working with a team of passionate leaders to make better happen in New York City schools”

Kaychell English, Applicant 

IMG_1501

“I can not wait to see how the children react to the corps members! I am really excited to see what the corps members do on a daily basis.”

Lindsay Rothfeld, Applicant 

IMG_1505

“I am looking forward to the opportunity to observe the interaction between corps members and the students, as well as the school’s atmosphere. Overall, I’m pumped!”

Monica Detomas, Applicant 

IMG_1508

“I am most excited to see the children and see how well they interact with the corps members. I am also excited to learn how well students are doing in school and which aspects of their learning they look for help in.”

