Five Things Friday: Thinking about applying?

As we get ready for the February 15th, Application Deadline, a few of our corps members wanted to share a few thoughts from their experience applying and serving with City Year New York. Enjoy!

1. Why did you decide to do City Year?

“I chose City Year because I was truly passionate about education and closing the achievement gap. I had experienced education as a student, and wanted to see it through the lens of a mentor, tutor, and educator. City Year provided that experience, which I felt no other program offered.” -Aja Flewelen, Corps Member, I.S. 126 Towerbrook Team in Long Island City, Queens

2. Who wrote your letters of recommendation? 

“I asked my academic advisor and my Residence Life Director to write my recommendations. I have worked with these people closely for years and they’re the ones who know me best. I wouldn’t haven’t asked anyone else!” -Emily Mulkerne, Corps Member, PS 75 Citizens Team in the South Bronx

3. What is the most challenging part of the application process?

The hardest part of the application process for me was the word limit on the essay portion. I tend to be very thorough with my explanations and want the reader to know everything. However, the word limit helped me write succinctly and in turn, helped me realize that City Year would fulfill all that I was looking for in a service program post-graduation.-Frederick Angell, Corps Member, PS 206 Citizens Team in East Harlem

4. What is the most rewarding part of your service with City Year?

“The most rewarding part of my service is watching the students discover more about themselves. I find it very satisfying to watch students slowly discover a new talent, learn a new language, practice a new skill, and find out that they are truly able to excel.” -Markus Tarjamo, Corps Member, PS 154 Team in the South Bronx

5. What are your plans after your year of service with City Year?

I plan on continuing my passion for service and my love of science by attending medical school. City Year has taught me many values and skills that I will take with me to this next step of my life. Eventually, I would like to use my degree to volunteer internationally in areas with a high level of healthcare disparities.-Ashley Manchanda, Corps Member, Newtown High School Microsoft Team in Elmhurst, Queens

