Surviving My First East Coast Winter: A Reflection

My name is Evan Neubauer. I get to serve as the Events and Alumni Project Leader at City Year New York. As of this morning, I can also say that I have successfully survived my first East Coast winter! Today is the first day of Spring and I couldn’t be happier! Despite various weather sources suggesting that there may be flurries tonight, warmer weather is surely on the horizon.

IMG_19043

Me, alongside my friends Shipra and Liz, surviving Winter during MLK Day 2013! Thanks, fleece-lined bombers!

I was born and raised in Southern California and attended UCLA, meaning I used to think that temperatures in the low 70s were chilly. It’s funny how one East Coast winter can convince you that 45 degrees is beautiful weather. In fact, I’m pretty sure I was thrilled to see a high of 43 while I was getting ready for work this morning.

While Summer was treacherous, Autumn was a beautiful season in New York. I learned firsthand why people refer to it as Fall (“Look at all the falling leaves!” -Me at some point in the Fall).

Autumn

Me, standing in a pile of fallen leaves!

Family

My mom, grandmother, and sister were able to visit from California during the Fall. Here they are on the High Line!

Then came Winter. My first weather-related mishap occurred last November. I was on my way to get a haircut wearing shorts, a hoodie, and running shoes, which I now know is a rookie move. While I felt slightly cold during my ten minute walk to the barbershop, I wasn’t prepared for how freezing I would feel on my way back after a substantial haircut. I don’t think I’ve ever shivered that much in my entire life. I guess you could say that I learned pretty quickly after that to ask my roommates if my outfits were weather appropriate. After several weeks of “no”, I started hearing “yes” more and more. I was learning! As the weather began to really cool down, I was relentless. I wanted to see snow, and I wanted to see it immediately. All I really wanted was a snowball fight, which finally happened in the Bronx two weeks ago thanks to my colleague Charlie Fick! Thanks Charlie! Although we’re well into March and I feel like I never want to see snow again, I know I’ll be excited for the first snowfall next winter.

BronxSnow

An above-ground subway station in the Bronx shortly after the snowball fight

If you’re considering a move from a sunnier state to an area with actual seasons, I’d say go for it! I’m so glad I did! It’s a tremendous learning experience. Trust me, I did a lot of learning. You’ll probably make similar mistakes (here’s hoping you don’t!) and seek out great, new experiences, which makes it that much more fun!

Be sure to check out more on my cold, Winter thoughts from my YouTube show, The N00bHour, below!

