Send out “Tiny Ripples of Hope”

Today’s guest blogger is Emmanuel Paul Sterling, Recruitment Manager for the Northeast Region. Next week he will be joining Aids Lifecycle for a ride down the California coast, in an effort to raise funds and awareness for HIV and AIDS.

Robert Kennedy, speaking in South Africa in 1965, said: “Each time a person stands for an ideal or acts to improve the life of others he or she sends out a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other through many centers of energy and daring those ripples create a mighty current that can strike down even the strongest walls of oppression and resistance.”

On June 2, 2013, I will join a “current” of cyclists on a 7-day journey down the coast of California with AIDS Lifecycle. AIDS Lifecycle (ALC) is a bike ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles that will raise money and awareness in the fight against HIV/AIDS. I learned about the ride three years, but other promises kept me away. After completing the New York Century Ride, I knew this had to be the year I commit to ALC.

This year, I am celebrating the end of my sixth year with City Year and in that time I have learned that it’s the little things can have the largest impact in life. I decided to stand up and make a commitment to this ride because HIV/AIDS is a virus that has hit close to home for me. I am from Saint James, Louisiana, which has a population of just over 25,000 and I was shocked to learn that the number of people in my hometown living with the virus has nearly doubled in the last five years.

I have only heard and read amazing stories about this ride and can only think about how life changing the experience will be for me. I will spend most of my time on the route riding an average of about 80 miles day. I have connected with friends who have agreed to cheer me on and provide emotional support. The last seven months have allowed me to build relationships with some amazing people who share my passions. The last seven weeks I have been challenged to train like I have never before. The seven days in the saddle from San Francisco to Los Angeles will be meditative for me and truly beneficial for the cause!

I am so thankful and appreciative to my City Year family who have donated, supported events, listened to countless ideas of how to raise the money, and for motivating to follow my passions. I am Emmanuel Paul Sterling! I am an advocate and change agent! I am a 2013 ALC participant!

Please click here if you would like to make a donation to my ride.

Follow me on twitter during the ride to see updates and cheer me on.

Also, check out the video below to learn more about the ride and hear from some of the many champions who have supported me throughout this journey.

