CYNY Registration Day

Today we hosted our first registration day for the 2013 – 2014 incoming corps. At each of these days we will interview a few corps members and share their thoughts about joining City Year, moving to NYC and how they are getting ready for the year. Enjoy.  

Malika EvansName: Malika Evans
Hometown: Elmhurst, Queens

How did you learn about City Year? One of my friends told me about City Year so I started doing my own research. Joining City Year is not unusual for Spelman College grads – I would guess there are ten or more Spelman grads serving this year. I came here today with a friend from school and my best friend from Spelman is serving in Philly this year.

Why did you want to serve with City Year? I was placed in foster care at age 13 and my saving grace was having teachers and mentors who cared about me. They were all young and able to connect with me at a different level. They were honest with me and they didn’t hold back. They kept my spirits high and made me feel like school was my second home. I wanted to be able to do that for students in my home city.

What are you most looking forward to this year? I cannot wait to have a breakthrough with a student. There will be such a rewarding feelings when I build trust with a student, see improvement, or knowing that I have helped someone’s life.

What are you nervous about? School has changed since I was there. I see issues that my little sister faces at school like bullying and cyber bullying and these are challenges that I never had to face. I think it will be hard to get kids engaged and focused with so many distractions out there.

Chip WilliamsName: William ‘Chip’ Tobin
Hometown: Northford Connecticut

Why did you join City Year? I really like helping others. I started volunteering at age six with the Connecticut Special Olympics but I was really looking for an opportunity to work with students in a different way. I really think that joining City Year is going to be a rewarding experience where I will be able to help kids.

How did you prepare for your year? I am lucky to have a friend who served at City Year New York last year. I was able to shadow her at Newtown High School and after one day it was locked in my mind that this is what I wanted to do.

How is the apartment hunt going? I am really looking forward to living on my own for the first time. I found one roommate using the Facebook group and I am hoping to find one more. My roommate is from California and after his registration day on the 30th so we are going out to see places in Queens that day and are hoping to knock it out in one day! My friend who served last year is letting us stay with her while we find our place.

How did you get the nickname ‘Chip’? This is a nickname that was given to me before I was even born. I don’t know if people have heard of the show My Three Sons? When my mother was pregnant my dad watched the show and would always be whistling the theme song. I am their third son and the third son on the show was named Chip. It just stuck.

For those of us who are not familiar with the show (myself included) I thought I would share a video so we can all enjoy the theme song.

Next registration day is July 26th so check back then to meet a few more of our awesome incoming corps members.

