Alumni Spotlight: CYNY Alum, Lee Grisham, Raises Money for Movember

Below is a Q&A with alumni, Lee Grisham and his participation in “Movember.” Movember is the month formerly known as November, where men and women across the globe join together to raise awareness and funds for men’s health. Men grow and women support a Mo (moustache) for 30 days becoming walking, talking billboards. Movember supports world-class men’s health programs that combat prostate and testicular cancer.

 

LeeGrishamName: Lee Grisham
Years served: FY 10 and FY 10
1) When did you serve?
I served at PS 154x in the South Bronx and served on the New York Civic Engagement Team my senior corps year.
2) What’s your favorite memory from your corps/senior corps year?
Tough one. I think the Best Day Ever from my corps year was pretty awesome. Though I did help plan the day, so that may have factored in the decision. We had a pretty great lineup of activities including a PT competition where each crazy team had to make their own PT performance and a Name That Tune competition as well.
3) What made you come back to City Year? Did your service help transition you into your staff position at CYNY?
City Year has always been important to me because they value a lot of the same things that I care about myself. There was so much that I learned during my corps years, that I wanted a way to help others have a similar experience. My service helped me make the transition in some respects, but what the corps does now is a little different from when I was serving. I think my time spent as an intern in Development was much more useful in my current role in Development Operations.
4) What prompted you to participate in “Movember” and grow a moustache?
In college, we did some crazy events focused on shaving and we usually did a No-Shave November each year. I participated after my first year in college, except for the November where I was working at Walt Disney World because of strict uniform policies. Movember is something I heard about after I moved to NYC and I thought it was a great idea to get involved with an organization that focused on supporting men in issues that they face in their lives.
5)  Why should people donate? 
Movember is an amazing organization started by a group of 30 men in Australia who wanted to help out and has grown into an international phenomenon. It’s very easy for anyone, Mo Sistas are welcome, to get involved with a group that’s dedicated to changing the face of men’s health, pun intended. New York has a great community involved with the movement and the atmosphere is extremely positive and can do, just like City Year. They like to have a good deal of fun as well!
5) Whenever I have free time, you can definitely find me ……..
playing guitar. I’m trying to learn how to play the instrument, and it’s definitely shown me how weak my fingers and wrists are!
6) What song do you play the most on your phone or iPod?
This may show my age, but I don’t often listen to music on my phone and don’t have an iPod. I prefer to read on the train on my way to work. I listen to music more at a computer on Spotify, and some songs I’ve been kind of obsessed with lately, are “Kinks Shirt” by Matt Nathanson and “The Mother We Share” by CHVRCHES.
For Lee’s Movember page, click here.
